Marion County Public Schools Home
Kevin Christian


Marion County

Applications of interest are now being accepted for the Pre-K/VPK (voluntary pre-kindergarten) program operated by the Title One office of Marion County Public Schools. This full-day program takes place during the normal 2009-2010 school year and is not related to summertime VPK programs.

Applications are available at participating school sites, the Title One office, and at

This program is widely popular but has limited seating. Admission is based on a random selection of applications submitted or postmarked by the 5pm, March 27 deadline. The parents or guardians of those students accepted into the regular school year program will be notified via telephone call from the district’s Title One office starting April 9. Those not accepted will be placed on a waiting list in random order and notified in a letter from the Title One office.

Title One Pre-K/VPK applications may be returned in five ways:

  • In person at the Title One office at 306 NW 7 Ave. in Ocala
  • mailed to the Title One office at 306 NW 7 Ave., Ocala, FL, 34475
  • faxed to the Title One office at 352.620.7604
  • phoned in to the Title One office at 352.620.7652, or
  • completed online at

    To be eligible, children must be four years old by September 1, 2009, and live within the attendance zone of their participating school. Regular school-year Pre-K/VPK will be offered in 16 classrooms at 10 public elementary schools: Anthony, College Park, East Marion, Evergreen, Fessenden, Fort McCoy, Oakcrest, Reddick-Collier, Sparr, and Stanton-Weirsdale. Transportation is provided for those students accepted into the program and meeting eligibility requirements.

    For more information, contact the Title One office of Marion County Public Schools at 352.620.7652.

    Public Relations Department
    420 SE Alvarez Avenue
    Ocala, Florida 34471
    Voice 352-671-7555
    Fax 352-671-7735
    FRS 800-955-8770
    TTY 800-955-8771
    Marion County Public Schools - An Equal Opportunity School District