Important... Please Read Carefully
Marion County Public Schools: An Equal Opportunity School District
Students in Marion County are entitled to certain rights, standards and protections including those of due process, equal opportunity protection, accurate and confidential record keeping, safeguards to health and safety, and access to suitable employment. The School Board is committed to affording students the benefits of these rights, standards and protections.
Students who feel that they have questions concerning this matter have the right and responsibility of discussing such questions with the school’s administration.
The Marion County Public School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, marital status or qualified disability in its employment practices and its access and admission to education programs or activities.
This notice is provided as required by Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Florida Educational Equity Act of 1985, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title IX Amendments of 1972 and the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Questions or requests for additional information regarding the above mentioned acts may be forwarded to the designated compliance administrator.
Rose Cohen, Equity Assurance Director, ADA, Title IX and Equity Issues
Phone: (352) 671-7711
Dr. Lou Archibald, District 504 Specialist, Section 504 Inquiries
Phone: (352) 671-6860
P O Box 670, Ocala, Florida 34478-0670
To the Office of Civil Rights Region IV, U. S. Dept of Education
Atlanta Federal Center, Suite 3B70, 61 Forsyth Street, SW
Atlanta GA 30303-8909
Phone: (404) 562-7886 Fax: (404) 562-7881
2012 - 2013 FEE SCHEDULE
Student Category Funded Under Workforce Development:
- Resident Career Certificate Programs: $2.94 per student contact hour.
- Non-Resident Career Certificate Programs: $11.76 per student contact hour.
- Continuing Workforce Education: $4.90 per student contact hour.
- Resident Adult Basic and Adult General Education Students: $45.00 per semester, Fall and/or Spring Terms.
- Non-Resident Adult Basic and Adult General Education Students: $180.00 per semester, Fall and/or Spring Terms.
- Participants in recreational and leisure programs: $2.48 per student contact hour.
- Participants in recreational and leisure programs requiring a certified instructor: $3.03 per contact hour based.
- After-school Enrichment Program and Summer Enrichment Program school students: $2.48 per contact hour.
- Career and Technical program application fee: $10.00
- Registration fee for first-time Adult Education Students: $10.00
- Registration fee for returning Adult Education students who have been administratively withdrawn for disciplinary or attendance reasons or who do not remain continuously enrolled: $10.00
- Processing Fee for PSAV program student tuition and fee refunds: $50.00
- Career and Technical Program transcript request fee: $5.00
- areer and Technical Program registration fee: $15.00
- Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) Fee for Non-CTAE students: $14.00
- GED Pre-Test Fee for general public / non-CTAE students: $14.00
- Fee for CTAE courses taught by outside vendors / contractors. Fee will be calculated on an individual course basis to cover costs of instruction and may include additional fees for materials, technology, lab fees, and any other specific cost to deliver the program.
- CPR course fee: For MCPS employees and students: $25.00 For all others: $35.00
- Service charge for tuition and fees payment in installments: $25.00
GED TESTING FEES
- Complete Battery: $70.00
- Individual Sections: $14.00
- Rescheduling Fee: $10.00
CTAE CAREER AND TECHNICAL PROGRAM STANDARD APPLICATION PROCESS
BASIC SKILLS REQUIREMENT
Career and Technical program have specific academic skill exit requirements in Reading, Math, and Language set by the State Department of Education.
CHOICES is an online career interest survey. Applicants may complete both the Interest Profiler and the Work Values Sorter at home or in Student Services.
- Up to the sixth week after enrollment, applicants must provide results of TABE, CPT, PERT, SAT, or ACT assessment taken with the past two years.
- Applicants needing to complete the TABE test are encouraged to do so as early as possible. Scoring below the minimum state exit requirement for the specific program will not prohibit acceptance, but assist staff in developing the best plan for each applicant to be successful in his/her training.
- TABE TESTING TIMES: Monday @ 9:00 am, Tuesday @ 1:00 pm, Thursday @ 1:00 pm & 6:00 pm.
- PLEASE CALL (352-671-4134) TO SCHEDULE YOUR TABE TEST APPOINTMENT.
- Applicants who can document that they have an AA degree or higher may be exempt from the basic skills test. Please provide copies of transcripts.
Interest Profiler - You can access CHOICES at www.flchoices.org
Work Values Sorter
- Click on the "Choices Planner" button.
- Under the Work Heading, click on "Interest Profiler".
- To get an accurate profile, avoid choosing "Not Sure".
- Your last question will take you to the results screen. In upper right corner, click on "Print This".
- Type your first name in the box and then click on "Print".
DRUG FREE WORKPLACE
Please read the TASSEL policies. Then sign the Drug Free Workplace Letter of Understanding.
- Choose the Home tab. Under "Work", click on Work Values Sorter.
- Read directions and start ranking your values.
- Print Work Values Sorter results.
RESIDENCY AFFIDAVIT (For tuition purposes only.)
To be eligible for in-state tuition applicants will need two (2) forms of documentation which proves you were residing in Florida for the past 12 months. The documentation must have the applicant's name and Florida address on it. READ and COMPLETE the attached verification form.
Examples of documentation include:
SUPPLEMENTAL PACKET (if required.)
Return completed application to the Student Services Department along with $10.00 application fee (cash only).
- Florida driver's license or state ID, vehicle registration form indicating the year the plate was issued
- A Florida voter registration number and date it was issued
- Copy of lease or mortgage agreement, utility bills, bank statements, or court documents.
- Previous year's tax return.
QUESTIONS: PLEASE CALL STUDENT SERVICES AT 352-671-4134.
COURSE CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY 2012-2013
Community Technical & Adult Education has a fair and equitable refund policy for the refund of tuition, fees, and other charges that is uniformly administered and is published in the CTAE catalog. This policy complies with the guidelines published by the Council on Occupational Education (COE) and Federal Title IV regulations.
Tuition refunds for CTAE students leaving prior to program completion are based on the following refund policy:
- In the event of class cancellation, all tuition and fees will be refunded within 30 days of the scheduled class start date.
- If a student formally withdraws before the first scheduled day of instruction, all tuition and fees excluding the $10.00 application/registration fee and any fees paid for items already received by the student, will be refunded.
- For Community Education Fee classes: No refund will be given after the first class meeting.
- For Continuing Workforce (CWE) classes: If a student withdraws before completing two (2) days of a scheduled CWE class, a refund will be given within 30 days with or without a written request from the student. No refunds are made after the second class meeting or for fees of $10.00 or less. A $25.00 processing fee will be assessed for withdrawals occurring within the two (2) day period.
- For Career and Technical programs:
- If a student withdraws before completing five (5) days of the first scheduled career and technical course of that payment/enrollment term, a refund will be given within 30 days of a verbal/written request from the student. A processing fee of $50.00 will be retained on all PSAV refunds. No refunds are made after the 5th class meeting in a given term or for fees of $10.00 or less.
- Students who have not visited the school facility prior to enrollment will have the opportunity to withdraw without penalty following either attendance at a regularly scheduled orientation or following a tour of the facilities and inspection of the equipment. The $10.00 application fee is non-refundable.
- No refunds will be given for administratively withdrawn students.
- Online Refund Policy: All cancellations of class enrollment must occur prior to five (5) business days before the start of the scheduled class to receive a full refund. Individuals cancelling enrollment within the (5) day period preceding the start of a scheduled class will be assessed a $25.00 processing fee. The remainder of the class fee will be refunded to the individual via the same credit card used to pay for the class.
- A student who is called or enlists in active military service shall not incur academic or financial penalties by performing military service on behalf of our country.
- For students receiving Title IV financial aid, federal regulations also apply.
- Fees for all classes in a respective term(s) are due at the time of registration.